Capitol Chamber Players Concert Honors Carl Naluai

Apr 3rd, 2010 | By | Category: Public Concerts

Sacramento — Capitol Chamber Players will perform a Family Concert on Sunday, April 18 at 3:00 p.m. at Congregation B’nai Israel, 3600 Riverside Blvd., Sacramento.

Carl NaluaiThe concert will feature three original works by Sacramento area composers. Two will be narrated musical tales, “Alice in Cyberland,” music by Robert Samson Bloch and words by Julia Bloch, and “I Was Minding my Own Business,” words and music by Carl Naluai, and the other is a group of poems by Hannah Stein set to music by Lawrence Frank.

Carl Naluai, cantor of Congregation B’nai Israel from 1978 until his sudden death in 2009 wrote I Was Minding My Own Business for Capitol Chamber Players in 1999. The delightful story is loosely based on Dr. Seuss’s story Horton Hears a Who.

Naluai had a longtime relationship with Theodore Giesel. He was disappointed in the Giesel hiers’ decision to sell rights to his prose for the musical Seussical Musical which came out the following year in 2000. He felt that the Seussical Musical, based on an amalgamation of several Seuss books, corrupted the original prose and lost the sense of the Dr. Seuss books. It has now been just over a decade since Capitol Chamber Players premiered this work and the group would like to honor Naluai and his genius in this upcoming concert.

BOB BLOCHOther works on the concert will be equally entertaining. Davis resident Robert Bloch’s work Alice in Cyberland is a takeoff on Alice in Wonderland. Julia Bloch cleverly devised a story where Alice falls into her computer and has some hilarious experiences which everyone who has ever been frustrated by a computer will find humorous. The music by Bloch is equally charming.

Larry FrankWoodland resident Lawrence Frank will offer his work Transits of Water in which he set (Davis resident) Hannah Stein’s poems to music.

The chamber ensemble includes flute, clarinet/bass clarinet, bassoon, violin, viola, cello, piano and soprano. Musicians include Maquette Kuper; flute, Robin Houston, clarinet; Lindsey Bartlett, bassoon; Robert Bloch and Julian Woodruff, violin/viola; Rejean Anderson, cello; Susan Erickson, piano and Rona Commins, soprano.

Tickets are available at the door for $18.00 General, $12.00 Senior and $7.00 Student. For advanced purchase discount and further information call Maquette Kuper 530 756-7380

Post to Twitter

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.